Trader Joe’s Mini Haul

I spent the first part of the week in Omaha at the annual Fuel Ethanol Laboratory Conference.  Before we got down to the business of wasting time and drinking coffee at the conference, we shopped.  There’s a rather extensive outlet mall outside of Omaha that I had never been to, so that was a bit of an adventure in shopping and savings.  After the outlet mall, we all headed to Trader Joe’s, which is maybe one of my favorite places to wander and shop.  Sometime’s it’s just nice to buy things you don’t have the opportunity to buy at home, and to try some fun and random new things.

Full disclosure, these aren’t my photos….because I didn’t think of doing this until after I had already torn through some of my purchases.  I can’t help it….I get excited about things!

dscn9618-695x800

Every once in awhile, I like lemon curd on toast.  So, I finally decided I should buy some for the house!  I haven’t tried it yet, but I’m sure it’s good.  Honestly, I’ve never bought anything from Joe’s that I didn’t like.

 

english-toffee-1-of-5

This is possibly my favorite Trader Joe’s treat.  Tastes almost exactly like what Momma MisHappenings makes for Christmas except that we use pecans instead of the almonds that coat these little beauties.  Plus side, after you eat the large toffee chunks, you’re left with delightful crumbles of chocolate, toffee, and almonds that are great on ice cream, granola, a fruit crisp…..honestly the possibilities are endlessly delicious!

 

img_3489-768x1024

I don’t ever particularly like chocolate, but these little morsels of caffeine just hit the spot!

 

photo-18

I LOVE BOXWOOD!

Boxwood’s might honestly be my favorite plant.  They smell good, they are a nice little shrubbery, and I pretty much think they are the best things ever!  So, I of course had to buy a wreath to hang on my gate.  I think my coworkers maybe thought I was insane, but I really don’t care.  Nothing gets in the way of me and my festiveness!!

 

roasted-tomatillo-mango-salsa

This was a new purchase, but I’m glad I threw it into the mix.  A good amount of tangy and spicy.  It’s also a good texture.  I don’t like a super soupy salsa, but I also don’t love having to eat it like a meal.  I’m not sure that it really tastes all that mango-y to me.  It’s definitely more of a traditional salsa than a fruit salsa.

 

trader-joes-cold-brew-coffee-concentrate-100-arabica-beans-32fl-oz-0

I have yet to figure out how to make myself a proper iced coffee at home.  Usually, I just resort to pouring cold coffee that I probably brewed the day before over ice and calling it good.  This coffee concentrate makes a much better iced coffee.  I like mixing it with coconut milk for a slightly favored morning caffeine-y treat!

Itrader-joes-lightly-sweetened-coconut-strips

These did not survive the trip back from Omaha…..I got the bored hotel munchies.  Oopsy! Honestly, there isn’t much to say about this.  If you like coconut you really can’t go wrong with these!

 

I also got a few other things that I’m not at liberty to discuss at this time.  With that said, back to the Christmas knitting I go!

Leave a Reply

