A Weekend in the West

I made a quick trip out to the Black Hills this weekend. The original plan was to bring the Main Squeeze so that he could meet my West River people, but he had a family commitment and had to stay home.   So, I got a girl’s weekend all to myself with my Lil B complete with shopping, brunch, day drinking, and new hair!!

First things first, I got to town and got to spend several hours with my hair stylist at High Maintenance salon with enough tin foil in my head to channel alien life forms!  I love getting my hair done in Rapid because I’ve been going to see the owner of HM since I was in college. She knows my hair, and she never fails to deliver amazingness.

I tend to have hair style ADHD, but she always can narrow in and find something gives me a change and a boost without being crazy and out of control.

I mean…..saying that I was a bit all over the place this time is maybe an understatement. This is why, if you’re like me, you need a stylist who can wade through all the random ideas and crap you throw at her.

I am now blonde for the summer, with a cute little shadow root so that it grows out nicely. Because let’s be real, despite the fact that the salon I’m ride or die for is called High Maintenance, I’m really pretty low maintenance about keeping my hair in its tippy top condition. I mean, you all read the blog and now I haven’t been out to get my hair done since November. That level of commitment isn’t conducive to fun fashion colors, crazy undercuts, and all the other random things I think I need.

(As I’m writing this though, my hair has possibly become more dry shampoo than hair, and I’m wondering if I can pull it together for brunch in a couple hours without looking like a total slime ball…….hmmm. Well, the blonde does always look less greasy than dark brunette, so I’ve atleast got that going in my favor!!!)

I arrived at Lil B’s cute new house, and we of course proceeded to start drinking……that’s how you make the best plans after all.  I hadn’t eaten, so we eventually decided that we needed to get food.  While Lewie’s is my go to option when I’m in Lead, Friday nights are trivia nights, and we decided it would be too busy.  So, we went somewhere new, The Roundhouse!  Well, it’s not really new at all since it’s an old train building that’s been converted into a gorgeously fancy restaurant, but I had never been there before.

We got to sit in private old rail car, Lil B had prosciutto stuffed duck breast, and I got to drink wine out of what was quite possible the largest wine glass in existence!! I desperately need a set of these glasses for my home life so that I can wander around sipping cheap wine…..in sweat pants…..with my dog while still feeling fancy as fuck!

Honestly, it was like staring into a crystal ball and finding out your future was going to come up wine. That kids, is a future I can be all about!!

image

Look deep into the orb, and see your future!  Hint…..it’s Malbec!

We stopped at the dive bar on the way home but it was dead and we were exploding with food so we came home and passed out talking in the living room. Nothing screams classy like two grown women waking up in a living room.

Saturday morning started as all mornings should with coffee, eggs, and bitching with your bestie about how much you just hate all the random things!  The bitching got better when we decided that 11am was an acceptable time to start drinking…..so I whipped up a pitcher of cheap champagne with the addition of a raspberry lambic.  It’s a fun sorta spin on a mimosa only with the added benefit of not diluting your booze with juice!

image

I’m not sure how people drink this as it is, because it’s really thick and tastes essentially like raspberry syrup. They make other flavors, so if raspberry isn’t your thing you can still rock out any of the flavors with a bottle of the cheapest champagne you can find.

We decided that we needed to get out of the house so we got ready and went shopping in Rapid, because let’s be honest……you can shop and bitch…..it’s like a more intense version of power shopping.

Halfway to Rapid we decided that we should also swing through Prairie Berry Winery for some fun and some free samples. Basically, we spent most of the afternoon shopping and cruising the highways of the Black Hills, and frankly that was ok by me!

We shopped for a bit.  I got some new sandals for vacation with the Main Squeeze, and some snacks for the trip down to the winery. The winery was super busy, much more so then the last time I was there with Momm and my sister, but we did eventually squeeze ourselves into the bar for our samples. I have to say I was slightly disappointed by the size of the wine glasses…I guess once you’ve had the best everything else is just sad haha!

We purchased some wine and both somewhat accidentally got signed up for their autoshipments of wine. Oopsy, well I can pick up my wine at their East River location, and more wine never hurt anyone so we will see how this turns out.  See….I need those huge glasses so that I can drink my autoship wine more effectively!!!!

After the winery, we finally hit up Lewie’s so I could get my bacon cheeseburger with jalapeños fix! Once again exploding with food, Lil B and I headed home for some Netflix and a couple drinks. This time though, we did both actually make it through the first show…..the second one, not so much!

image

This morning I decided against a shower, but I did throw on a sundress and head back to Rapid for brunch with my favorite Russian and her new hubby!  It was delicious, amazeballs, and so good to see them again.  I feel like I just don’t get enough of these people that I got so used to seeing everyday in college.  The whole situation was so nice that I totally forgot to grab my credit card after I paid.  Luckily, I discovered the problem when I arrived at Philly Ted’s for my quota of cheesesteaks to bring home and freeze.  A quick trip back to Tally’s Silver Spoon got me my credit card back, and I was ready to hit the road home.

All in all, it was an amazing trip, and I can’t wait till I can find a weekend to head back, and hopefully bring the Main Squeeze along.  Now kids, I’m home….and it’s time to wash my hair!

 

Leave a Reply

