Breaking Up is the Hardest Part

Literally and figuratively, my trusted foundation and I are on the outs.  I’m not sure if this is an issue that happens to people with normal skin, if my foundation is just sick of my shit, or if sometimes you just need to switch things up so your body doesn’t become too used to something.

b4ed2591591ccc352e50610f28342b0f

This…..this is all we want!  Why does it have to be so hard to achieve?!?

I’m really not sure what the problem is or where it came from.  I’ve worn the Bare Minerals powder foundation since….IDK FOREVER!  I probably started using it in high school, and it’s been my go to foundation ever since.  It was obviously working for me here, or I wouldn’t have told you it was my ride or die foundation!  Then, the break up started……  I would put my foundation on like usual, and it would always look really good to start.  About an hour later, disaster would start.  It would slowly start breaking up into chunky awfulness on my face, always just down my nose, around my mouth, and the center of my forehead.  It would start to look like I just had something sitting on my face.  It was drawn to anything that wasn’t my actual face.  Phones, my glasses, Main Squeeze’s nose…..basically it wanted to be anywhere that wasn’t my face!!  Also, it would turn much lighter than my actual skin tone and just generally looked like a hot, hot mess.

too-much-makeup-2

How I look with my makeup going into oil slick breakdown mode.

I headed straight to Sephora, and I tried everything I could think of to get my old foundation to set better.  I have the larger holiday pots, so in an effort to not be wasteful and high maintenance feeling, I was determined to make it work.  I bought primers, brush cleaner, different moisturizer, tried different ways of applying it, using more, using less…..nothing was working.  Luckily, Sephora has a good return policy and they will give you free samples.  It’s a good pro tip if you want to try things or you’re having struggles similar to mine.

e65388eb4b6ef3f19a8ff648dafe5675

No Ariel….I just want the stuff I have to work!!!  Although I did buy myself two new lip products out of sadness…..NEW SUMMER COLORS!

I did finally bite the bullet and I bought a new foundation.  I’m trying out the new Bare Minerals BARESKIN liquid foundation.  I’m actually really enjoying it, and my skin seems to be enjoying it much more as well.  Even at the end of the day, my face still just looks like my skin, but in the best way possible.  I no longer have a floating oil slick of foundation hanging out on my face.

I do still feel a bit overly dramatic about having multiple varieties of foundation, and soon I’ll have to buy another color for summer.  But, I mean your face is what the world sees and what you see every time you look in the mirror.  If spending a bit of money changes the way you feel about what you see in a positive way, then in my mind that’s money well spent.  I mean…..you know what they say, “Put your best face forward!”  I know the quote is usually feet, but my feet are huge and are always forward even if I don’t want them to be, so I decided to switch it up!

Makeup

 

 

2 thoughts on “Breaking Up is the Hardest Part

Leave a Reply

