What Goes Good with Tequila…….?!

…………….SPICY FISH TACOS!!!

Like many of my recipes, this one isn’t super exact.  Generally when I cook I find recipes online, study them to get the general idea, and then just sorta go off and do my own thing.  I’ve made these tacos 3-4 times now, so I think I’ve pretty much got a handle on it.  I get packages of fish from friends and family and they range in variety and size.  I would say that generally a pound is the average size package.  When in doubt, just use the same amount you’d use to feed your crowd any other variety of protein.  It’s a pretty easy recipe to scale up or down depending on the amount of mouths you have to feed or the amount of leftovers you want.

The Supplies

  1. MARGARITA SUPPLIES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  2. 1 lb. of your choice of white fish (Cod, Halibut, Tilapia)
  3. Some!?!?!?……..Small Tortillas or Taco Shells
  4. Sour Cream or Plain Greek Yogurt
  5. 1 Avocado
  6. 1 Jalapeno
  7. 1 Bag Broccoli or Cabbage Slaw
  8. Olive Oil
  9. Cilantro Paste
  10. Salt and Pepper
  11. Equal Amounts — Cajun Seasoning, Chili Powder, Smoked Paprika, Dried Cilantro, Cumin, and Garlic Powder
  12. Half of an Equal Amount — Cayenne Pepper
IMG_3579

Don’t ask be what kind of fish that was…..IDK…..but it was yummy yummy in my tummy!

Step 1: Rub Down the Fish

In a small bowl mix together all the dry spices.  I just guesstimate on the amounts, it will depend on how much fish you’re planning to make.  Also, you can adjust the blend depending on how spicy you want your spicy tacos to end up.  Around here, we like things hot!  The tacos will get topped with a cream sauce which will help cool things down, so keep that in mind when you prepping the spice rub.

Usually my fish is frozen, so thaw it out if necessary.  I lay it all out on a baking sheet and cut it into strips….like cutting steak for fajitas.  You can make the strips a bit large, they will shrink and flake apart once they are cooked, but more surface area means more flavor and faster cooking time.  Sprinkle the pieces generously with the spice rub, and then sorta press in in so it stays on.  I like to throw the pan in the fridge and let the fish hangout for a couple hours before I cook them.

Step 2: Prep the Slaw

I use broccoli slaw because it’s crunchier and I think it holds up against the hot fish better.  (It also seems to last longer in the fridge for leftovers.)  Dump the slaw into a large bowl, drizzle with olive oil, season with salt and pepper, and add about 2 Tbs of the cilantro paste.  You could also use fresh, diced cilantro leaves….but I’m lazy.  Also, I use the cilantro paste for pineapple salsa….I made Pineapple Salsa….Solid First Effort…..which is amazeballs with or on top of the fish tacos.  Getting super summery and festive around here!  Stir up everything just to mix and stash in the fridge for later.

On this particular day I had leftover pineapple which I added directly into the slaw....this is also a good option!

On this particular day I used cabbage slaw with some leftover pineapple which I added directly into the slaw….this is also a good option!  I generally prefer broccoli, but the store was out. :/

Step 3: Make Cream Sauce

I whip this up in my “wanna be” magic bullet, but any blender or food processor type thing should work.  Wash and chop the jalapeno into chunks….you can de-seed or not.  It’s always hard to tell how spicy jalapenos are gonna be, but I tend to use the whole thing and I don’t really ever bother to de-seed them.  Add the avocado and about an equal amount of greek yogurt or sour cream.  Sprinkle in some salt and pepper, a squirt of cilantro paste if you want, and process until smooth.  Get ready to have your life changed….you’ll want to put this on everything!

Step 4: Make a Margarita

…..or take a tequila shot if your lazy!  Remember….we are channeling summertime funtime here!

Step 5: Cook the Fish

Drizzle some olive oil in a large fry pan and add your fish once the oil gets hot.  Don’t over crowd the fish or it won’t brown nicely.  Cook 3-5 mins and then flip.  Keep cooking until the fish starts to get flaky.  Remove to a plate and continue adding more fish to the pan until everything is cooked.

Not much to see here.

Not much to see here.

Step 6: Assemble and Chow Down

You can warm your tortillas or shells in the microwave for a couple seconds if you want.  I’m usually super HANGRY by this point and totally opt out of that step.  Layer in the fish, slaw, and cream sauce and prepare to have your world rocked.  If you want to opt out of the cream sauce they are also excellent with the pineapple salsa and slaw, you may want to adjust the spiciness since there won’t be any cream to cut it.

If you followed Step 4 correctly....you should have limes.  Feel free to get extra fancy and squeeze a bit over your fancy tacos!

If you followed Step 4 correctly….you should have limes. Feel free to get extra fancy and squeeze a bit over your fancy tacos!

One thought on “What Goes Good with Tequila…….?!

Leave a Reply

