The Gainz Killing Sick Week

It hasn’t been a real exciting week around here.  I’ve been dealing with a chest cold for about a week.  Mostly I’m just getting crabby and pouty because I wake up every night coughing.  I’m being a huge baby about the whole thing, and have skipped several of my usual gym dates.  I mean, I know it could be way worse, but I’m just over the coughing thing.

I’m never sure how sick is too sick to justify skipping a workout.  Does anyone know?!?!  I just know that I’m experiencing severe “skipping” guilt which I think finally means that I’ve gotten myself into shape.  Or at least gotten myself into a healthy habit!

This is usually my every week problem....this week not so much. Side note, Burpees Suck has some really cute workout clothes if you're in the market for such things. Check them out!

This is usually my every week problem….this week not so much. Side note, Burpees Suck has some really cute workout clothes if you’re in the market for such things. Check them out!

Since I’m not feeling up to my usual workout routine, I thought maybe I would write about it.  Sorta a “workout by osmosis”!  Is that a thing?!?!  Idk….I’m making it a thing!

After my last break up about a year and a half ago, I did that thing single girls do where we decide we are gonna work out and become super sexy and amazeballs and really just “show him what he’s missing”.  So…..I joined a new gym in town called Form Fitness.  I really love it.  Having been a dancer and a swimmer, I’m used to working hard in classes, with people, and not having to hang out in a traditional gym setting on the machines.  Form is all classes: rowing, pilates, yoga, barre amped, trx…….it’s all good and it’s all fun.  Plus, Form comes with that added benefits of cute boutique shopping, and the people there are all really nice.  Working out sometimes sucks, but it sucks less if you’re doing with people you like!

So…..my “normal” workout week looks something like this:

Monday – Row and Flow or TRX at noon, Row and Core at night

Tuesday – Barreamped and maybe biking 19 miles after work

Wednesday – TRX at noon, sometimes biking, and Restorative Yoga (if I make it) at night

Thursday – Yoga Sculpt

Friday – Barre and Flow

Saturday – Maybe a class, maybe a run……if I’m in town and not hungover!

Sunday – General laziness and Restorative Yoga at night if I’m in town.

I know it kinda seems like a lot, but it works for me.  I only bike one night a week, usually whenever Pimp Money has time, although the biking season around here is starting to dwindle.  If I start to feel sore in one area, there are always other classes I can swap in, but that’s just the normal routine I try and stick to.

This week I did manage to rally myself for a rowing class on Tuesday night and TRX Wednesday morning.  I was too exhausted, tired, and generally feeling pathetic to make it to anything else.  Everyone was telling me that resting when you’re sick is important.  I get that, but it’s a weird concept for me.  Growing up, we never….ever really took sick days off dance and swimming.  I really only recall missing when I had the chicken pox in high school.  Also, I don’t like the way not working out makes me feel.  I’ve felt like a weird little walrus blob all week.  I know one week isn’t really enough to do much damage, it just feels odd to be out of my routine.

Tomorrow starts a new week, and I shall get back to my regularly scheduled ass kicking.  To cap off my week of laziness, I made myself blueberry muffins for breakfast.  I’m also making Better Than His Mother’s Pot Roast with spicy garlic green beans for dinner tonight.

New day, new week, time to get after them gainz again!

New day, new week, time to get after them gainz again!

I had my first test of the semester this week too, and that didn’t really go as planned either.  Really, the whole class isn’t going all that well.  I’ve had this professor before, and he just doesn’t lecture in a way that makes sense for my brain.  He’s also one of those teachers that basically just reads the text out of the book and the only examples he uses are the one’s published in the text.  I’ve always found this annoying because then you only have the one option to try and figure something out.  Ugh!  I mean whatever, it’s one test, and I’ve already lost my 4.0, but it is a bit annoying because I do pay a lot of money to take distance classes.

Alrighty, so there’s my little pity party for myself for the week.  Time to put the past in the past and more forward with awesomeness!

Leave a Reply

