Father’s Day Blues

Those who know me best know that I’m usually a fairly emotionally stable person.  I don’t go flying off the handle about things, and I can usually keep stuff together fairly well.  I just sort of maintain a standard operating level of bitchiness, but this week was different.

I’m not quite sure why it was different, I just know it was.  Funny though the things though that make you feel better….

  • Drinking half a bottle of tequila with you bestie and bawling like a baby at her pool at 3 in the afternoon.  Yup….we were those girls, and we don’t care what you want to say about it.  Sometimes a girl just needs booze, her bestie, and a good cry!  On a side note, I’ve never been drunk and then sobered up again all in the same night.  Yay for new experiences!
  • Movie night on the couch with the Scout baby….she’s my ride or die!
  • Running a 5K.  I hate to run, it’s not my thing and it never goes well for me.  Sometimes though, you have to run for those who can’t.  So today I put on my shoes, left the music and distractions at home, and ran for my Dad.

24609_116486718380863_3580254_n

Now I’m not sure that it ever gets any easier or better.  I don’t know why it seemed better to cry at a pool than at the funeral.  I don’t know why I can just be going about my day, and all the sudden the feels punch me in the gut.  What I do know though, is that life goes on.  Even when Dad was here and sick, he wanted everything to go on as normal.  So, I’ll continue to do what I do, and life will go on.  Sometimes that the best you can do.

2 thoughts on “Father’s Day Blues

  1. This is a powerful entry.
    You know how when you’re running a 5k, the first couple seem extraordinarily difficult, and you think you can’t possibly finish as it only gets harder from there? But then you make it to the finish line.
    Maybe that’s how it is in life.
    I’m sorry for your loss.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

