Bedroom Changes Part 1: Oh, the Choices

I spent most of the winter ignoring the projects and updates I want to be performing to my house.  Spring and Summer mean a new start and a renewed sense of purpose for my projects.  (I feel like that sentence was about as cheesy as they come.)  Plus, I have some friends who are getting antsy to help with my projects, and you should never let the offer to help paint a room expire!  I’ve never really been in charge of picking out my own paint colors, just another step in adulthood, so I’m having some anxiety about making such a big choice.  I thought maybe I would throw up some options on the blog.  It might help me to talk through everything, and maybe I’ll get some good ideas in the comment section.  That’s right people, this is going to be an interactive post.  TELL ME WHAT YOU THINK!  I’ll make more Bedroom Changes posts as I get the room accomplished.  Plus, there is a whole bedroom upstairs that I need to tackle, but I have a more streamlined vision for that room so I feel less stressed about that one.

The Current Situation

A clashing of styles.....

A clashing of styles…..my current situation.

The people who lived here before me had really modern style.  There was a white, ceramic moose head hanging over the bed……hahah totally not my taste!!  The room is currently painted a dark blue/grey.  Actually, I like the color and will probably move it to the bedroom upstairs.  The grey just doesn’t go with my sheets and curtains.  The curtains are the same purple and gold damask as the bed skirt.  I really like my purple and gold theme and the fabrics I have going, so now I just need to decide on a wall color.

The current choices are a dark purple…..which is apparently tricky to find, or a beige.  I’m hesitant about the beige because everyone can have beige walls….they just aren’t very exciting, and I’m sorta an exciting gal.  The other issue is that the rest of my house is beige.  In a way, it feels like taking the one exciting room I currently have, and dulling it back down to normal.

The Inspiration: Let Them Eat Cake

Marie Antoinette in all her opulent glory.

Marie Antoinette in all her opulent glory.

I want my bedroom to be a bit fancy and over done.  I mean, obviously I’m not going to gold leaf everything, but I would like it to be a modern take on that classic style.  The whole main floor of my house has sort of a classic style, and I want the bedroom to be the grandest room on the floor.  I’m the queen of my own castle and I want my bedroom to show it.

The Ideas I Have

The stencil is also on the to do list.  Whatever color I paint the wall, the stencil will be done in a very sheer pearl paint.  The goal is to have the stencil design there, but have it be very subtle.

The stencil idea will be done for sure.  Just the wall behind my headboard.  I’d also like to make a new, tufted headboard, but that’s a different blog post.  It doesn’t matter if I paint the walls dark purple or beige, the typical paint finish we use is eggshell.  I bought some metallic pearl paint for my couch, and that’s what I’ll use for the stencil.  It will be fairly subtle either way, just a difference in finish.  In my mind it looks cool, however I’ve realized that my mind’s vision sometimes doesn’t work out.

I love the faux-4 post look.

I’m also really loving this look.  I would be perfect for me because I’m obviously not rocking a 4 post bed frame.  I don’t know that I would do all 4, and I have no idea what fabric I might use.  Nothing I currently have.  So, if you have suggestions on what mind go with the rest of my fabrics, that would be helpful.  Isn’t interaction fun?!?!

The problem

The main problem I’m having involves the fact that there is very little light in my bedroom.  There isn’t an overhead light, I could maybe change that, but I’ve gotten used to having an overhead fan.  I tend to get warm at night and I can’t sleep if i’m hot.  Lack of sleep leads to a somewhat snarky me, so it’s really in everyone’s best interests that I keep the fan.  I love the dark purples below

597526865

gypsy

If I paint the walls dark, I will repaint my doors and woodwork a light cream.  The only thing I’m not quite settled on is what to do with the ceiling.

 21-purple-bedroom-ideas

I do like the general idea of painting the ceiling and walls the same color with some nice trim in between, however there are two issues with this plan.

1.  I don’t have the trim currently, and budgetary restrictions might cause my room to look a bit odd for awhile as I save.

2. My ceiling and walls do not have the same texture.  I realize that this can be fixed, but that’s maybe more work than I’m wanting to bite off.  I think that unless I change the ceiling texture to match the walls it would be odd for them to be the same color.

The Horror Show

The other slight problem I’m having with purple is the horrific problem that can occur when you pick the wrong shade!

photo 2 (2)

The caption on this photo was, “Purple done right!”  WRONG….THERE IS NOTHING GOOD ABOUT JOLLY RANCHER GRAPE WALLS!

597678435

I mean….the bad can get really bad!

So, this is my conundrum, hunt around for the perfect dark, purple befitting royalty….or settle for some beige, and try to fancy it up a bit by painting the nightstand, and maybe a mirror, dark purple.  Leave some comments and help be decide.  I’m thoroughly on the struggle bus with this choice and I need your help!  Also, the bedroom is attached to the bathroom which I may or may not paint.  However, the bathroom has silver fixtures, and it’s not in my budget to change them.  I’m not a huge fan of gold hardware, and so the silver will probably be permanent.

photo 4

Leave a Reply

