I Made Pineapple Salsa….Solid First Effort

Over Superbowl weekend I was staying with my best chemistry girl in Nebraska!  I ended up getting snowed in there an extra night, and we had to scamper out to the grocery store for food and football snacks.  I found a tub of pineapple salsa, and I’ve been having cravings for more ever since.  I bought some from a store up here last week, and it was a sad, sad situation!

I’m done with school for a couple weeks, found myself with some free time, a pineapple in the fridge, and decided to get to business.  I didn’t take any pictures of the process, because well….this could have ended badly.  However, it didn’t!  Frankly, I might never improve this recipe because it was easy and fast, and sometimes you need a healthy snack now!

 Ingredients:

  • One Jalapeno, Seeded
  • 2 Tablespoons Chopped Cilantro
  • About One Quarter of a Pineapple
  • One Half Tablespoon Garlic Powder
  • Plenty of Salt and Pepper

I don’t have a food processor or blender, but I have an off brand Magic Bullet!  I threw about half the pineapple in a bullet cup with the cilantro and spices.  I started with half the jalapeno….because again….questionable activities here!

The bullet is hard to pulse on, so the first batch got a bit too runny.  The salsa from the grocery store was a bit chunky, and I have to say I’m a fan of the chunky salsas.  In an attempt to remedy the texture, I threw the other half of the quarter pineapple in the bullet with the rest of the jalapeno, and tried my best to get a rough chop with the magic bullet.  It wasn’t a super successful attempt at chunky salsa…..there is no good way to chop with a magic bullet apparently.

Well, there it is folks.  Five ingredients and a cheap magic bullet gave me a quick, yummy salsa, albeit one with a smoother texture.  I’ll take the easy Wednesday win!  Now time to vacuum up some fur bunnies and curl up with my Scout baby for a movie.  It’s good to be us this week.

One thought on “I Made Pineapple Salsa….Solid First Effort

  1. Pingback: What Goes Good with Tequila…….?! | (Mis)Happenings of a 20 Something

Leave a Reply

